Gaming Reviews, News, Tips and More.
We may earn a commission from links on this page

Final Fantasy XIV Dumps Worlds for Merger

We may earn a commission from links on this page.

If you've been playing online game Final Fantasy XIV, you know there are eighteen in-game worlds. That is going to change. Soon there will be ten.

"In order to improve the player experience, we will be merging Worlds on Tuesday, March 27, 2012," stated Square Enix. "After the merge is completed, there will be a total of ten Worlds, down from the current eighteen."


Square Enix will require character transfers for all existing characters and must select a new post-merge world. Those who do not by the deadline will be assigned automatically to another world.

Current worlds, such as Cornelia, Kashuan, or Istory, simply become New World 01, New World 02, New World 03 and whatnot for the time being. What's the difference? Well, Square Enix stated that New World 10 is recommended for German and French-speaking players.


Fret not, these worlds will get names. According to Square Enix, "The new Worlds shall inherit the names of the ten most popular current Worlds. Name assignments will be announced after the transfer selection period has ended."

The character transfer selection period runs from Mar. 1 to Mar. 19. The merger is slated for Mar. 27.

More in the link below.

About the World Merge and Character Transfers (02/09/2012) [The Lodestone]