The Switch’s Launch Lineup Is Getting Beefier

World of Goo
World of Goo

The Nintendo Switch’s launch lineup was initially a disappointment for people who wanted more than five launch titles. Nintendo fans were complaining that, in fact, the only “real” launch title for the Switch is Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild. It makes sense—the Wii U, Wii and 3DS all launched with more.


Weeks after the Switch’s January 12th press event, the lineup is looking a bit more flush. Just today, three more ports were added.

As of January 13th, the Switch’s launch lineup was:

  • 1, 2 Switch
  • The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild
  • Just Dance 2017
  • Super Bomberman R
  • Skylanders: Imaginators

But in the subsequent weeks, these were added (the last 3 today!):

  • The Binding of Isaac: Afterbirth+
  • I Am Setsuna
  • Human Resource Machine
  • Little Inferno
  • World of Goo

So, yeah, more games may still be announced in time for launch—maybe not enough to match the Wii U’s initial 32 or the 3DS’s 18. But some more. Hopefully.

I’d say the slow trickle of announcements is a bad move for Nintendo if they’re hoping to generate hype for the console, but GameStop and Amazon’s first batch of allotments sold like hotcakes. Ideally, though, the final launch lineup’s port-to-original title ratio will be better than what we’re currently seeing.

[Correction—7:00 PM]: An earlier version of the piece incorrectly referred to Human Resource Machine. The correct spelling has been included.

Senior reporter at Kotaku.



Yes, World of Goo, the 2008 game that exists not only on the Wii, but also on BLACKBERRY OS, is what’s gonna make the difference here...