The Miami Heat Appear To Have Messed Up the Gears of War 3 Hype [UPDATE]S

LeBron James, first you upset the people of Cleveland by abandoning their basketball team. Now you've helped the Miami Heat beat the Chicago Bulls in five games, closing the series out last night with an 83-80 victory. That means there's no sixth game of the NBA Eastern Conference Finals happening this Saturday.

And that means... no Gears of War 3 campaign trailer premiering on American TV this weekend? It had been planned to debut on TV during Game 6.

Last week, I asked a Gears of War 3 spokesperson what would happen if the series didn't go six. "We'll still premiere the trailer on Kotaku on the 28th. :)" was the reply, emoticon and all.

Guess they better send us that trailer.

If life has unfolded in a way such that you don't reside in the U.S. of A., you can still see the trailer on TV this Saturday. It's supposed to air during the Champions League Finals Match at 9:45 pm GMT on Saturday (5:45 pm Eastern, 2:45 Pacific, like that still matters).

Nice going, Heat.

UPDATE: Late Friday, Microsoft provided some updates about this. First, the 9:45 GMT time announced by Microsoft last week may have been an error. They're now saying the trailer will premiere during the Champions League Finals Match broadcast at 8:45 GMT (4:45 ET). The campaign trailer will air "after the final whistle," according to an e-mail from a Gears spokesperson. "The ad will air in the UK on ITV1, ITV1 HD, Sky Sports 1 and Sky Sports 1HD, and in Mexico on Fox Sports." It will not run on American TV but will be on Kotaku. The trailer will appear on Xbox Live, on Facebook and even here at Kotaku shortly after it runs on TV.

(Top photo by Nam Y. Huh | AP)